Today Is My “HIV Birthday”

Please if you’re at health department or invloved in HIV related activitives especial support groups here’s a concept you could use as theme for your event (HIV Birthday).

“Seven years ago today, I found out I was HIV positive. I’m thinking a lot today about how my life has changed since that day. You know, I have to say, there has been good and bad, ups and downs, but I continue to be thankful for the life I have. Ironically, I think I am healthier living with HIV than I was when I was negative. The one thing I still struggle with today is fear of stigma/disclosure. But I’m working on it! I’m being more open about my status because I do feel that silence = shame, and I have nothing to be ashamed of!” mikeosito

“Before I tested positive, I could never understand why anyone would want to have an HIV birthday. However, my HIV birthday is October 16th – also 7 years. In the beginning, I didn’t think that I would be able to get through this but I have since learned to appreciate life. I now say that HIV will eventually take my breath but I refuse to let it take my life! Good luck in your continuous journey”. Dakotalagrange

“2 years ago on the 20th of this month I know was when I got infected. I’m so glad that I am here today in 09. God bless everyone”. car2d2

“unfortunately i don’t recall the exact day, but it’s twenty years ago this month i was diagnosed with hiv…who knew i’d still be around to talk about it!” Vanyel5

“My “HIV Birthday” is today…November 17th.

It’s been 9 years for me.

And, you are right…how things have changed in one’s life”. Polymath
http://www.thebody.com

For more infromation on HIV related stories including treatment and ongoing research for prevention and treatment go to http://www.thebody.com

websites like twitter, facebook, etc. are blocked at my workplace this blog/note was brought to through http://ping.fm

Leave a comment

Filed under community development, Education, Health, South African Government, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

