Race is still the issue (will South Africans’ vote depend on it?)

In 1994 when African National Congerss (ANC) campaigned for power and a number of promises were made to All South Africans amongst them a better life for all. 15 years later the same promises are still being made by the same organisation. On the other hand DA took less than 4 years to deliver services that would have taken the ANC more than 15 years to deliver (see Eastern Cape for evidence). This is a personal take on possible Western Cape 2009 election results and what would be the possible cause for such an outcome.

 

This blog/note is inspired by two discussions I’ve had with one of my friends working for NSFAS and a few MK veterans I happened to have had a discussion with over the weekend (after Jacob Zuma’s ‘human rights speech’).

 

The first discussion with my NSAFS friend revolved around Helen Zille’s DA delivery in the Western Cape within a short space of time versus ANC’s delivery record in the same province over a longer period and all other provinces over 15 years (with EC as prime example).

 

From the discussions it emerged that ANC KNOWS HOW TO PROMISE AND THE DEMOCRATIC ALLIANCE (DA) KNOWS HOW TO DELIVER, this at the time I couldn’t agree nor disagree with as I haven’t at the time witnessed the changes in the Western Cape since my last visit. But have certainly witnessed ANC’s failures to deliver within the Eastern Cape Province.

 

I’ve only been in Cape Town for 3 weeks but I have to say compared to my last visit in 1996 and 2002 I have witnessed a lot of positive changes or progress as compared to the Eastern Cape (ANC’s ‘strong hold’ (COPE’s loyalists may differ).

 

Amongst the excuses that one got was that DA has qualified and experienced personnel while ANC is dominated by under qualified inexperienced personnel but with great political history and this converts to votes with each election. First question I had in mind when I heard this, could it be true that ANC employs personnel based on their political loyalty rather than ability to deliver (needless to say the answer was a big no with various weightless defensive arguments).

 

To go back to my subject, could it be true then that those who vote for other parties other than DA in the Western Cape which delivered to them services that ANC failed to deliver over a 10 year period do so out of race rather than delivery. This question was an interesting question which I struggled to find answers for until I came to Cape Town and experienced that race is till the issue.

 

Like most people’s experiences I was amongst those who were certain that Mandela’s dream of a rainbow nation is just around the corner for South Africa, well not until my recent relocation to Cape Town. There are restaurants where your service is fast tracked just so they can get rid of you as if your presence is costing them business. This has shown me how Cape Town is plain racist. Even coloured people are racist towards blacks. How has this phenomenon lasted for so long in CT could it be the fact that most Cape blacks are predominantly based in non-developed places and are still aspiring towards middle class statuses – therefore they don’t have the confidence to undermine and brush racists aside.

 

Just yesterday I watched Hellen Zille on the news dancing with a number of black people singing and they were not singing “umshini wam”, a song which has proved to make people dance recently both those who like it and those who don’t but dance out of poking fun at someone.

 

If Western Cape votes will be based on delivery then DA will win with a 2/3 majority but if race is still the issue they’ll achieve non of the above. Did I mention to you that Western Cape’s RDP houses are by far decent with dignity compared to the Eastern Cape’s open plan RDP houses.

4 Comments

Filed under Commentary, community development, Politics, South African Government

4 responses to “Race is still the issue (will South Africans’ vote depend on it?)

  1. Pingback: Race is still the issue (will South Africans’ vote depend on it?)

  2. i completey disagree, my full comment is coming

  3. After reading through this article, I just feel that I really need more information on the topic. Could you suggest some more resources ?

Leave a Reply

