Help her find a job, way before you retrench her

One of Journalism and Media Studies students @ Rhodes recently popped in my office un announced at one of my busiest times, being the person that am I listened to what she had to say before “hush! i’m busy statements” it turns out she had an idea that speaks directly to my heart (community upliftment) then asked me to visit her blog and walla I loved the idea so i won’t spoil it for you read on below…

“When in a dorpie you take what you can find. If it’s a salmon coloured bra you want , be prepared to settle for the drab, old black or white nylon lace specials. Or maybe it’s a tin of Chickpeas you’re after as I often am. Well, be prepared to hunt or compromise. Baked Beans aren’t too bad – or so I keep telling myself. On this particular day in the little Eastern Cape dorpie of Grahamstown, my best friend and I were not searching for bras or chickpeas. Scatter cushions. That’s what we were after. You see, she’d recently bought a burnt orange duvet cover with splotches of maroon and now the appropriate cushions had to be found.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

And it was on that day, whilst looking at cushions and discussing colour schemes in PEP, that I met someone who I now think would have an easier time begging. I don’t remember her name. I was so taken aback. I remember the bits of small talk: “Hello Sisi … So you live here or you stay at the University?” She asked about our work and seemed liked a distant friend trying really hard to rekindle a friendship. The catch was the piece of paper she soon took out of her bag. It was a reference letter. She was an unemployed domestic worker and while we were looking for scatter cushions she was trying to find what in Grahamstown can almost be considered the impossible: a job.

…………………………………………………………………………………………..

The reality of Grahamstown is that there are more people who are unemployed and searching for a job than with one. And with no employment agency, notice boards at local supermarkets are full of mostly unemployed domestic workers’ contact details… To be honest, I rarely read these notices partly because I don’t need a domestic worker but also because if I did, I’d ask a friend to recommend one. I may be wrong, but I think most people would rather go that route. So maybe all unemployed domestic workers in Grahamstown should book a pavement corner; practice putting on their sad faces and wait for the passers-by to empty their pockets? Or they could turn to the internet.

The internet? It didn’t cross your mind, did it? Well why not? There are many online employment agencies – too many to list. There are also useful directories like gumtree which allow you to post and search for jobs. The problem is domestic workers don’t feature here. Enter Facebook.

Part of my aim in this blog is to see if it is possible to find a Grahamstown domestic worker a job through a Facebook group , still to be set up, called “Need a reliable domestic worker” more 

Leave a comment

Filed under Commentary, Economics, South African Government, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

